Mariano Rivera career Saves

Mariano Rivera, considered by many to be the best closer ever, set the MLB record for career saves. Use this database to explore how he did it and watch as he adds to the record.

Advanced search

clear search

These are the top aggregated results based on the search you performed. Below that are the details on each individual save.

Top final outs

  • Mark McLemore 2
  • Maggilo Ordonez 2
  • Edgardo Alfonzo 1
  • Brady Anderson 1
  • Harold Bains 1
View full list »

Top batters faced

View full list »
Showing 36 search resultsclear search
Save day of week Month Date Year opposing team Length of save H R ER BB K IR IRS Final out Note Stadium Total pitches Batters faced
84 Sunday September 20 1998 Baltimore Orioles 1.0 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 Rafael Palmeiro - Camden Yards 11 5
83 Wednesday September 9 1998 Boston Red Sox 1.0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 John Valentin - Fenway Park 10 3
82 Tuesday September 8 1998 Boston Red Sox 1.2 2 1 1 2 2 2 0 Darren Bragg - Fenway Park 30 9
81 Saturday August 22 1998 Texas Rangers 1.1 3 0 0 0 0 1 0 Warren Newson (Double play) The Ballpark at Arlington 22 6
80 Friday August 14 1998 Texas Rangers 1.1 2 1 1 0 0 2 0 Mark McLemore (Double play) Yankee Stadium (old) 18 5
79 Thursday August 13 1998 Texas Rangers 0.2 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 Juan Gonzalez (Force out) Yankee Stadium (old) 5 2
78 Sunday August 9 1998 Kansas City Royals 1.0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 Larry Sutton - Yankee Stadium (old) 13 3
77 Friday July 31 1998 Seattle Mariners 1.0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 Russ Davis - Kingdome 10 3
76 Thursday July 30 1998 Los Angeles Angels 1.0 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 Orlando Palmeiro - Edison Field 15 5
75 Sunday July 26 1998 Chicago White Sox 1.1 0 0 0 0 2 1 0 Ray Durham - Yankee Stadium (old) 13 4
74 Friday July 24 1998 Chicago White Sox 1.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Frank Thomas - Yankee Stadium (old) 10 3
73 Monday July 20 1998 Detroit Tigers 1.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Brian Hunter - Yankee Stadium (old) 8 3
72 Saturday July 11 1998 Tampa Bay Rays 1.0 2 0 0 0 1 0 0 Bob Smith - Tropicana Field 16 5
71 Thursday July 9 1998 Tampa Bay Rays 1.0 0 0 0 2 0 0 0 Wade Boggs - Tropicana Field 19 5
70 Sunday July 5 1998 Baltimore Orioles 1.0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 Cal Ripken - Yankee Stadium (old) 12 3
69 Saturday July 4 1998 Baltimore Orioles 1.0 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 Rich Becker (Double play) Yankee Stadium (old) 8 4
68 Wednesday July 1 1998 Philadelphia Phillies 1.2 1 0 0 0 1 2 0 Desi Relaford - Yankee Stadium (old) 15 5
67 Friday June 26 1998 New York Mets 0.2 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 Edgardo Alfonzo - Shea Stadium 14 3
66 Wednesday June 24 1998 Atlanta Braves 1.0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 Keith Lockhart - Turner Field 4 2
65 Monday June 22 1998 Atlanta Braves 1.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 Chipper Jones - Yankee Stadium (old) 6 4
64 Saturday June 20 1998 Cleveland Indians 1.0 3 1 1 0 0 0 0 Kenny Loften - Jacobs Field 16 6
63 Thursday June 18 1998 Cleveland Indians 1.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 David Bell - Jacobs Field 19 4
62 Wednesday June 17 1998 Baltimore Orioles 1.2 1 1 1 0 0 1 0 Harold Bains - Camden Yards 21 6
61 Sunday June 14 1998 Cleveland Indians 1.0 2 1 1 0 1 0 0 Matt Luke - Yankee Stadium (old) 20 5
60 Saturday June 6 1998 Florida Marlins 1.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Cliff Floyd - Yankee Stadium (old) 13 3
59 Tuesday June 2 1998 Chicago White Sox 1.0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 Maggilo Ordonez - Yankee Stadium (old) 9 3
58 Tuesday May 26 1998 Chicago White Sox 1.2 1 0 0 1 2 0 0 Maggilo Ordonez - Comiskey Park 25 7
57 Thursday May 21 1998 Baltimore Orioles 1.0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 Brady Anderson - Yankee Stadium (old) 12 3
56 Saturday May 16 1998 Minnesota Twins 1.0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 Orlando Merced - Yankee Stadium (old) 12 3
55 Wednesday May 13 1998 Texas Rangers 1.1 3 0 0 0 2 0 0 Rusty Greer - Yankee Stadium (old) 26 7
54 Tuesday May 12 1998 Kansas City Royals 1.0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 Jeff King - Yankee Stadium (old) 12 3
53 Wednesday May 6 1998 Texas Rangers 1.1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 Mark McLemore - The Ballpark at Arlington 12 4
52 Friday May 1 1998 Kansas City Royals 1.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Dean Palmer - Kauffman Stadium 7 3
51 Wednesday April 29 1998 Seattle Mariners 1.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Alex Rodriguez - Yankee Stadium (old) 11 3
50 Monday April 27 1998 Toronto Blue Jays 1.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 Tony Fernandez - Yankee Stadium (old) 10 3
49 Saturday April 25 1998 Detroit Tigers 1.0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 Bip Roberts - Yankee Stadium (old) 12 3
Showing 36 search resultsclear search
1